Collaborate 2015

Tuesday 20th October 2015

8:15am - 4:45pm

Taliesin Arts Centre, Swansea University

Swansea University Medical School

Collaborate 2015 is back and building on the success of last year’s event. The day is again dedicated to celebrating and promoting collaborative projects and partnerships across industry, academia, Government, health boards and other organisations.

Bringing together over 300 representatives from across the region and beyond, the event is hosted by the Swansea University Medical School’s Enterprise and Innovation Team, AHSC, ABM and Hywel Dda University Health Boards.

 Alongside the event’s high profile speakers, there will also be a series of thematic workshops, tours of ILS facilities and opportunity for attendees to network for further collaboration.


Collaborate Biographies

Confirmed Speakers

  • Professor Sir Mansel Aylward, Chair, Public Health Wales / Chair, Bevan Commission
  • Professor Marc Clement, Vice President, Enterprise & Innovation, Swansea University/ Executive Chair, Institute of Life Science, Swansea University Medical School
  • Sian Harrop Griffiths, Director of Strategy, Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board
  • Professor Stephen Westaby, Consultant Cardiac Surgeon/ Professor of Bioengineering Science
  • Professor Ifan Evans  Deputy Director, Healthcare Innovation, Welsh Government
  • Kathryn Davies  Executive Director, Hywel Dda Health Board
  • Professor Ceri Phillips  Head of College of Human and Health Sciences,  Swansea University
  • Mr Hamish Laing Medical Director, Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board

Workshop Speakers

Community Engagement

CHAIR Cllr. Meryl Gravell Executive Board Member for Regeneration & Leisure and Chair of Swansea Bay City Region

  • Helen Hughes Occupational Therapist Traumatic Brain Injury Service, Morriston Hospital
  • Prue Thimbleby Arts in Health Co-ordinator, ABM University Health Board
  • Jayne Tonks Implementation Manager Local Area Coordination, City & County of Swansea

Health Outcomes

CHAIR Prof Ifan Evans Deputy Director, Healthcare Innovation / Welsh Government, Health & Social Services Group

  • Steve Bain Honorary Consultant Physician, ABM University Health Board / Director of R&D, ABM University Health Board / Clinical Lead for the Diabetes Research Network
  • Paul Lee Medical Devices Training Manager, ABMU Health Board
  • Pippa Anderson Acting Head Swansea Centre for Health Economics, Swansea University

Business & Innovation

CHAIR Cari-Anne Quinn Head of Sector, Life Sciences / Department for Economy, Science and Transport, Welsh Government

  • Keir Lewis Associate Professor in Swansea University / Honorary Respiratory Consultant and Director of R&D in Hywel Dda University Health Board / Lead of the South West hub of the Academic Health Services Collaboration / Associate Dean for Academic Careers (Wales)
  • Stephen Donoghue Swansea Innovations
  • Andrew Evans Partner, Geldards Law Firm

Skills & Workforce

CHAIR Prof John Gammon Swansea University

  • Ian Owen Fujitsu
  • Andy Grant Dean of Medical Education, Swansea University
  • Beverly Wilson-Smith Regional Skills Advocate, Gower College


Campus map



Collaborate 2015 Sponsors