On Friday 2nd December, Swansea University Medical School held their 2016 Annual Awards. The celebration held at the Brangwyn Hall was attended by staff and students from across the school.

Along with the seven awards that were up for grabs, guests enjoyed a 3 course meal, entertainment from Dave Barry Big band and later The Arrhythmics. The event was hosted by MC Kevin Johns and also included a raffle for the schools charity St David’s Medical Foundation, who this year donated the funds to the Swansea Gambia link.

There were 45 nominees this year across 6 categories who were nominated by fellow colleagues, students and peers, all of which were highly competitive. The judging panel comprised of Professors Keith Lloyd, Cathy Thornton, Gareth Jenkins, Phil Newton, and Dr Gareth Davies and Mr Paul Roberts.

The panel decided on a shortlist of 3 per category, one of which was awarded the overall winner. The awards went to the following;

Student Ambassador Award for Outstanding Contribution

Student Ambassador Award for Outstanding Contribution

“Awarded to the student who goes above and beyond their studies while positively representing Swansea University Medical School.”


  • Cristina Cernei
  • Ceinwen Cloney
  • Leah Gray



Winner was Cristina Cernei

“Through her enthusiasm and commitment, Cristina successfully planned and brought the 4th International Undergraduate Cardiovascular Conference here to Swansea University Medical School, the first time ever for it to run outside of London.”

Outstanding contribution to Operations Support Awards

Operations Support Awards

“Awarded to the team who to provide ongoing support to staff or students within Swansea University Medical School.”


  • Life Science Research Hub
  • Stores Team
  • Undergraduate Team at Singleton Hospital


Winner's were the Life Science Research Hub

“For the professionalism and knowledge the team bring while supporting academics and research colleagues across the Medical School in order to deliver competitive grant submissions.” 

Outstanding contribution to Teaching Award

Teaching Award

“Awarded to an individual or team who inspire and encourage their students, whilst demonstrating an innovative approach to teaching.”


  • Applied Medical Sciences team
  • Dr Jon Morris
  • Dr Wyn Harris and the Physicians Associate Studies team


Winner was Applied Medical Sciences team

“The team worked tirelessly setting up a new undergraduate degree and foundation year, within an extremely challenging timescale. No with a full cohort of enthusiastic and promising students who are fully engaged in #TeamAMS”

Outstanding contribution to Research Award

Research Award

Awarded to an individual or team who demonstrates exceptional research impact.


  • Professor Shareen Doak
  • Dr Ann John
  • Professor Helen Snooks and Dr Clive Weston



Winner was Dr Ann John

“Research into suicide, self-harm and depression has been translated into policy and practise on a national level, acknowledged by holding positions such as Chair of the National Advisory Group for Welsh Government and National Lead for Public Health Wales on suicide and self-harm prevention."

 Outstanding contribution to Enterprise and Innovation

Enterprise and Innovation

Awarded to an individual or team who have encourage collaboration and partnership, and promote innovation between the Medical School and external stakeholders.


  • Professor Shareen Doak
  • Professor Paul Dyson, Dr Miranda Whitten, Dr Claire Morgan and team
  • Enterprise and Innovation Team

 Winner's were the Enterprise and Innovation Team

“The team have played a vital role in fostering the development of ARCH, the Swansea Bay City Regional Deal and delivered a third successful COLLABORATE conference this year strengthening existing relationships and fostering new collaborations across the region.”

 Outstanding contribution to Outreach Activities

Outreach Activities

Awarded to an individual or team who engage and promote the representational and activities of Swansea University Medical School to external stakeholders.


  • Dr Ann John
  • Dr Alwena Morgan
  • Dr Heidi Phillips


Winner was Dr Alwena Morgan

“Undertakes significant outreach activities with such enthusiasm while promoting the Medical School’s research and courses on offer, throughout schools across Wales, at the National Eisteddfod, and the British Science Festival and Family Weekend.”


Dean’s Award

Deans award

This award was not up for nomination, it was chosen by the Dean and Head of Swansea University Medical School, Professor Keith Lloyd, who said;

“ This award is presented to an individual or team who have made a significant overall contribution to the Medical School. This year the award goes to Sian Roberts, Deputy Head of Operations for her overall and often largely unrecognised contribution to the smooth running of Swansea University Medical School.”


Mr Paul Roberts accepted the award on Sian Roberts behalf.

To view all the images from the celebration visit our Flickr gallery

Congratulations to all the winners